Heres a look at the lineups for the first 2020 Democratic debate  06/14/2019 16:50:06   Christina Prignano

NBC has announced the lineup of candidates who will appear during each night of the first Democratic National Committee debates later this month.

The field of 20 candidates has been split into two groups. According to NBC, which is hosting the debate, the group debating on the first night will feature Elizabeth Warren, Cory Booker, Beto O’Rourke, Amy Klobuchar, John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Julian Castro, Tim Ryan, Bill de Blasio, and Jay Inslee. The candidates will debate Wednesday, June 26.

The second group, who will debate Thursday, June 27, will feature Joe Biden, Kamala Harris, Pete Buttigieg, Bernie Sanders, Kirsten Gillibrand, Michael Bennet, Marianne Williamson, Eric Swalwell, Andrew Yang, and John Hickenlooper.

The Democratic National Committee says it divided the candidates at random but ensured that contenders considered front-runners would not be stacked on one night to avoid the impression that one night was more important than the other.

Material from the Associated Press was used in this report. Christina Prignano can be reached at

« Go back